I have discovered that I like sewing (shhhhh. Don’t tell anyone!). It’s quite an interesting phenomenon because when we lived in the States, I did NOT like it and I would break my sewing machine any time I had to use it. Not on purpose, mind you. So when we came down here and I found myself WANTING to sew, I wondered what was wrong with me. Was I sick? Was I getting some sort of tropical disease that changed my likes?!?! 🙂

I have come to the realization that I am a creative person. (My mom would say, ‘Duh!’ at this point.) In Virginia, I was expressing my creativity through music- Shekinah, our church’s worship team, etc. It was easy to find ways (besides sewing) to express myself creatively. Those things fulfilled my creative needs. Down here, though, I don’t have an outlet for my creativity in music. I can’t fully play the keyboard at church because it is such a different style and really, I don’t have the time to practice or anyone around to help me. It is not so easy to find crafty things to make. It can take quite a while to find one thing in a list of things, so at times, I start to feel the need to make something, to create something, to just get something out! I don’t know if Rodney really understands, but it really is a NEED.

So sometimes I will sew something. Other times I will bake something. Other times I will find a way to rearrange the house. Often times I get interrupted and cannot complete what I’m doing which can be a bit frustrating, but I’m thankful that even if Rodney doesn’t understand fully, he gets that I need some time just to be, and he lets me create.

First dress and binding ever made and it turned out pretty cute!

First dress and binding ever made and it turned out pretty cute!

With hidden zipper. I was pretty excited it turned out!

With hidden zipper. I was pretty excited it turned out!

Christmas present for Maya and Micah to sit comfortably.

Christmas present for Maya and Micah to sit comfortably.

Baker's clay dough wisemen with their camel. (Made with Beuford)

Baker’s clay dough wisemen with their camel. (Made with Beuford)

Baker's clay dough shepherd and sheep (made with Beuford).

Baker’s clay dough shepherd and sheep (made with Beuford).

Mary, Joseph, Baby Jesus, and Angel (made with Natalie).

Mary, Joseph, Baby Jesus, and Angel (made with Natalie).

I know I’m biased but I think the whole nativity out of Baker’s clay dough turned out SO cute. I was very disappointed (and maybe even shed a tear or two) when I went to bring it and some clay dough ornaments out the next year and they had all molded. I was so sad to throw them away.

I also love to bake desserts and breads quite a bit. People want to start ordering my bread but I say ‘No’, because I want to continue enjoying it. I don’t want it to start to be a chore that I HAVE to do on a certain day. I prefer to keep the enjoyment in it.

Here’s to creative urges! Now, off to feed the hungry children…..