Image

So the newest addition to our family is now 6-going-on-7 weeks old and I’m finally having the time to sit down and tell you, HE’S HERE! 🙂

Image

Early in the morning on Sunday, June 23rd, I started having contractions. I had them for a few hours and was getting excited that our little one was coming to meet us, but then they stopped and I slept about 4 hours or so. When I woke up at 7:30, they started again. It was really happening! I called my mom to let her know, sent Rodney and Micah off to church (Maya had pink eye), and enjoyed the morning with Maya, relaxing and breathing through contractions. The guys came home, we had lunch, the kids took a nap, and I continued to relax and breathe. Rodney was watching Larry the Cable Guy and a few times when I was in the middle of contracting, I was laughing. Let me tell you, those two things don’t go together very well!!! Our friend said, “You might be a redneck if you’re watching Larry the Cable Guy while your wife is in labor!!!” 🙂

At 4pm, our friend came and picked Maya and Micah up. The contractions were getting pretty intense, but again, I was able to relax and breathe through them. A bit before 5 I told Rodney, “We need to go now.” As we turned out of the driveway, I could feel my center of gravity had shifted down lower and my contractions were hurting in my hip bones too. Breathe and relax, breathe and relax. We got to the hospital at 5:20 pm and he was born at 6:39pm, au natural,  after not quite 8 minutes of pushing. The midwife had come into the room just a bit before and said she had another patient at the same stage as me, so she would have to go back and forth and it would be a race to see who gave birth first. Well, she didn’t even make it out of the room and he was born. I won! 🙂 (My dad thinks I’m competitive. Psssshhhh. Nah. 🙂 )

ImageImageWe didn’t know what we would name him yet, but Rodney called our friends who Maya and Micah were staying with and told them he was here! Once we decided on a name, we called back and told them. Our friend said, “Well that’s what Maya said his name was when you called the first time. We told her her baby brother was born and she said, ‘You mean Jayden?’ ” Crazy, eh? We had a list of 4 names that we were going to choose from and she picked the same one we did! (For the first time ever.)

Image

                                          Proud Papa

Jayden weighed 7 lbs. 15 oz. and was 19 inches long, but wasn’t fully stretched out.  We were in the hospital a day, went and picked up Maya and Micah, briefly visited a 31 party where Maya and Micah were at, and went home.

Image

                                           First meeting

 

Image

Image

Image

                                Getting ready to go home!

ImageImageMaya and Micah cannot get enough of their baby brother. Jayden puts up with them pretty well too. It’s so nice that he can sleep through their noise. One time I was feeding Jayden and his eyes were closed. Micah came up, leaned in nice and close, (I thought he was going to kiss him) and yelled, “HI BABY BRUDDER!!!!!!” Jayden never even flinched.

We have been so blessed to have Jayden. He’s already sleeping through the night and started doing that at not quite 3 weeks old. (Thank you Lord for that sleep!!!!!) He rarely cries, he puts up with a lot of little kids holding him and loving on him, he has traveled over 5,000 miles to see family and hasn’t missed a beat, and he smiles at me when I sign to him! 🙂 Well, at least the one time I lost my voice and was signing to him he did!

We love this little man so much already and can’t wait to take him back to Jamaica so he can meet his friends and family down there!!! 🙂 Welcome to the world!

Image