I’ve come to the realization that I really don’t like smartphones. I mean, they are really, really nice to have your email and a nice camera on the phone that you can pick up quick, but I don’t like them. They are SO addictive. Facebook is right there, calling you to check up on things all the time that are really not all that important in life, games (for some… this isn’t as tempting for me) that are addicting to until you see jewels or candy when you close your eyes, Pinterest is calling to be scrolled through to see what kind of awesome things to pin to try and be a ‘super mom’ that will be forgotten for a while.

I can’t tell you how many times we’ve been down at Treasure Beach for some pizza and we’ve seen tourist families, sitting at the restaurant together, each on their own handheld device, not talking at all for the whole meal. What!?!?! And I’m noticing more and more, people are holding conversations but not even looking at the person they’re talking to. Why? They are looking at their phone. I’m seeing more people who come to visit us, sitting in our swing chair and in the front room when there are others there, on their phone. (Please don’t be offended if you were one! This is not judging, just noticing!) I’m seeing myself ignoring my children because I’m on my phone. Ouch. Hard to take. The list can go on and on. You know all this! You’ve seen it for yourself!

So it’s hit me. We’ve gotta make some family rules with our phones. I do not want my children growing up thinking that the phone/Facebook/Pinterest is more important than hearing what they have to say, than playing and interacting with them, than seeing them grow up. I don’t want to miss out on their funny faces, loving smiles, silly sayings, the preciousness that they are. I don’t want to look back at when they are little and say, “I was on the phone so much, I don’t have very many memories!” Because really, is Facebook and Pinterest what I want in my memories instead of my children?! Absoultely not!

I don’t want my marriage to start being harmed by the communication slowly starting to fade away. I want to be able to continue to hold conversations looking at each other in the eye without the mind wishing we were doing something else (like checking Facebook, messanger, email, Deer Hunter, Pinterest, etc.). I do not want to let it just happen. I’m going to stand up for my family. It’s not always easy; temptation is not easy. But it’s totally worth it.

So, what rules have we set?

1. No Facebook/Pinterest/games when the kids are around.
2. No phones at the table.

So far that’s it. But it’s a start. We are committed to preserving our family and not just letting current culture habits to happen. We are committed to be purposeful about what we will do. I’m thankful we are starting this before we head back to the States in July! Before we jump into the land of smartphones!

So, what about you and your family? Do you have smartphone rules? If so, what are they? I’d love to hear from you!