I was pretty excited today when Rodney, Monica Bauman (who is here for the final steps of getting the boys to the States…. another blog on that later), and the boys went to Junction, and I got my kiddos down for a nap. BOTH of them! Wooo hooo! Some rest time for me and maybe I would even start to make a much needed maternity skirt! Peace and quiet. What a blessing. But as I sat down on my comfortable couch, I heard all three dogs barking madly. ‘What in the world?! Who is out there!?’ I thought. So I peek out the window and low and behold, the pig had gotten out and was traipsing around the school grounds. My heart fell as I thought, ‘How in the WORLD am I gonna get a pig back in it’s pen by myself, six months pregnant, and while it’s raining?!?!?!?’ Then I saw our dear Omar Reid running after it. ‘Praise the Lord! I have some help!’ So I slipped my slippers (flip flops) on, Rodney’s jacket, and headed outside. I had tried to no avail to call Rodney. Alright. Here we go!!!

We ran up and down the hill side, slipping and sliding in the wet grass, on the wet rocks, trying to herd the pig into the pen… or even somewhere CLOSE! Omar would get a feed bucket and bang on it while I trailed behind with a stick. The pig liked that for a while, until it was close, and then it would run off in the bush. Oh my word. I just kept praying that God would keep His angels to protect me from falling! At one point, I was slipping WAY too much to wear my slippers so I took them off and ran around barefoot. After mashing my feet upon the rocks, running up and down, I couldn’t take it anymore and had to put the slippers back on. Luckily, Brandon, a community boy, was walking home from school through the grounds and grabbed a stick to help. Let me tell you, it’s SO much easier to herd a pig with three than with two. Rodney finally called back. I told him what was happening so he hurried home (as much as one can hurry on these Jamaican roads). I ran home to change into shoes and socks so I would be less likely to fall.

We continued to herd the pig and kept it to one place when we heard Rodney pull up in the bus, 10-15 minutes later. Praise the Lord! It took Rodney, Omar, and Brandon about 5 minutes to finally hold onto the pig and shove it into the pen. Mon! Rodney said his hands were hurting after just that little bit. I thought, ‘Lucky he did that because I would not have.’ After about 30 minutes of chasing this pig all around, I’m worn out and my feet hurt. But I tell you! What an adventure! I’m thanking God that I didn’t slip and fall on the rocks. It could have been very bad!

I made Rodney take some pics of the original herding duo (Omar Reid and me) after everything was all said and done. 🙂

Stick, carrot, feed bucket, and baby belly. All along for the ride of herding a pig over a loose, rocky hillside.

Stick, carrot, feed bucket, and baby belly. All along for the ride of herding a pig over a loose, rocky hillside.

Dumb pig anyways! It was so tired afterwards it just laid there. Dumb pig.

Dumb pig anyways! It was so tired afterwards it just laid there. Dumb pig.